There are just three South Africans in the field of 89 players for this week’s first major of the year, the Masters at Augusta National.

This year’s event will be the 88th tournament since the very first was contested back in 1934.

Spain’s Jon Rahm is the defending champion.

The tournament starts on Thursday, 11 April.

The South Africans who will be flying the flag are Charl Schwartzel, Erik van Rooyen and Christo Lamprecht.

Lamprecht is one of five amateurs in the field.

Schwartzel won the Masters in 2011.

He is one of three former winners from South Africa.

The others, Trevor Immelman (2008) and Gary Player (1961, 1974, 1978) are not in this week’s field.

Bookmark The South African website for the latest news, scores and more from Augusta National.


Åberg, Ludvig Sweden
An, Byeong Hun Korea
Bhatia, Akshay United States
Bradley, Keegan United States
Burns, Sam United States
Cantlay, Patrick United States
Clark, Wyndham United States
Cole, Eric United States
Conners, Corey Canada
Couples, Fred United States
Davis, Cameron Australia
Day, Jason Australia
de la Fuente, Santiago (a) Mexico
DeChambeau, Bryson United States
Dunlap, Nick United States
Eckroat, Austin United States
English, Harris United States
Finau, Tony United States
Fitzpatrick, Matt England
Fleetwood, Tommy England
Fowler, Rickie United States
Fox, Ryan New Zealand
Garcia, Sergio Spain
Glover, Lucas United States
Grillo, Emiliano Argentina
Hadwin, Adam Canada
Hagestad, Stewart (a) United States
Harman, Brian United States
Hatton, Tyrrell England
Henley, Russell United States
Hisatsune, Ryo Japan
Hodges, Lee United States
Højgaard, Nicolai Denmark
Homa, Max United States
Hovland, Viktor Norway
Im, Sungjae Korea
Jaeger, Stephan Germany
Johnson, Dustin United States
Johnson, Zach United States
Kim, Si Woo Korea
Kim, Tom Korea
Kirk, Chris United States
Kitayama, Kurt United States
Knapp, Jake United States
Koepka, Brooks United States
Lamprecht, Christo (a) South Africa
Lee, Min Woo Australia
List, Luke United States
Lowry, Shane Ireland
Malnati, Peter United States
Matsuyama, Hideki Japan
McCarthy, Denny United States
McIlroy, Rory Northern Ireland
Meronk, Adrian Poland
Mickelson, Phil United States
Moore, Taylor United States
Morikawa, Collin United States
Murray, Grayson United States
Niemann, Joaquín Chile
Olazábal, José María Spain
Olesen, Thorbjørn Denmark
Pavon, Matthieu France
Poston, J.T. United States
Rahm, Jon Spain
Reed, Patrick United States
Rose, Justin England
Schauffele, Xander United States
Scheffler, Scottie United States
Schenk, Adam United States
Schwartzel, Charl South Africa
Scott, Adam Australia
Shipley, Neal (a) United States
Singh, Vijay Fiji
Smith, Cameron Australia
Spieth, Jordan United States
Straka, Sepp Austria
Stubbs, Jasper (a) Australia
Taylor, Nick Canada
Theegala, Sahith United States
Thomas, Justin United States
van Rooyen, Erik South Africa
Villegas, Camilo Colombia
Watson, Bubba United States
Weir, Mike Canada
Willett, Danny England
Woodland, Gary United States
Woods, Tiger United States
Young, Cameron United States
Zalatoris, Will United States

Past champions who have confirmed they are not playing this week:

  • Tommy Aaron
  • Angel Cabrera
  • Charles Coody
  • Ben Crenshaw
  • Nick Faldo
  • Raymond Floyd
  • Trevor Immelman
  • Bernhard Langer
  • Sandy Lyle
  • Larry Mize
  • Jack Nicklaus
  • Mark O’Meara
  • Gary Player
  • Craig Stadler
  • Tom Watson
  • Ian Woosnam
  • Fuzzy Zoeller

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *