Ethan Wentzel nailed a stoppage time penalty to give hosts Shimlas a remarkable 45-42 triumph over Ikeys in the grand finale of the Varsity Cup.

In a high-scoring game played at a frenetic pace from start to finish, the two sides scored a combined 11 tries, of eight were scored in a breathless first half.

Ikeys crossed for a game-tying try in the 78th minute, affording themselves an opportunity to win the game with the conversion. But the kick attempt was wide off the mark, leaving the sides deadlocked a 42 apiece.

With more second remaining on the clock, Ikeys failed to secure possession from the kick off as Shimlas successfully disrupted their ball security in the air. From there, the home side stormed forward via a rolling maul and when the referee put out his hand to confirm they had a penalty advantage, Shimlas had a free play to go for the sought after try.

But with nothing forthcoming, the ref went back to the penalty and Wentzel lined up and smoothly slotted the title-deciding kick at goal to win the game for his time.

More to follow…


Shimlas — 15 Michael Jnr Kurt Annies, 14 Siviwe Zondani, 13 Zane Bester, 12 Gideon Jooste Nel, 11 Asanda Sihle Kunene, 10 Ethan SJ Wentzel, 9 Jandre Nel, 8 Kwezi Dlamini, 7 Pierre-Raymond Freddie Uys, 6 Sobe Siyambuka Nakhane Ningiza, 5 John Raymond Stopforth, 4 Reinier Juan Martin Viljoen, 3 Francisco Dos Reis, 2 Liyema Mgwigwi, 1 Ntokozo Hlophe.

Ikey Tigers — 15 Duran Koevort, 14 Rethabile Louw, 13 Joshua Boulle, 12 Johanthan Roche, 11 Ntokozo Makhaza, 10 Alex Vermeulen, 9 Asad Moos, 8 Laro Delport, 7 Taariq Kruger, 6 Siphumezo Dyonase, 5 Johan Van Rhyn, 4 Reynhardt Wouter Crous, 3 John Kelly Ifechukwu Okonkwo, 2 Keagan Jordan Blanckenberg, 1 Luthando Solomon Woji.

Shimlas Maties Varsity Cup
Shimlas celebrate their Varsity Cup triumph. Photo: Twitter @varsitycup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *